Library Journal Review
Melinda Campbell was a young teen from Kentucky's coal mine region when she gave up her baby daughter to Jeremy -Richmond and his wife, Tess. For 13 years, she has dreamed of seeing her little girl again. When Melinda is contacted unexpectedly by -Jeremy, it is because his daughter Shiloh has pediatric lupus and is expressing a strong desire to meet her birth mother. Melinda breaks from her high-powered career and travels to Santa Cruz, CA, to a cozy beach house where she begins a thorny relationship with Jeremy and works to create a rapport with her daughter, both of whom cannot understand how a woman could ever give up her infant for adoption. The soothing, natural beach setting contrasts with -Melinda's poverty-stricken past, Shiloh's illness, and Jeremy's new legal woes brought on by Tess, who abandoned Shiloh five years earlier. VERDICT Bockoven's second "Beach House" novel weaves a lovely tapestry depicting the many threads that form a life. With a focus on family, relationships, loss, and reconciliation, along with a pleasing hint of romance, this novel will appeal to fans of Luanne Rice and Elin Hilderbrand.-Gloria Drake, Oswego P.L. Dist., IL © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.