Publishers Weekly Review
Seventeen-year-old Ruby Otrera is a Fireblood with a poorly controlled ability to create and control flame, but her kind have been outlawed and persecuted by the cold-wielding Frostbloods, who rule her land. After her true nature is discovered and her mother killed, Ruby is imprisoned, then freed by members of a rebellion seeking to defeat the tyrant Frost King. Ruby hones her skills with the aid of a sullen Frostblood named Arcus, only to be captured again, this time sent to fight as a gladiator for the king's entertainment. This is a strong debut for Blake, though the overall structure and plot points will be familiar to fans of stories in which a specially skilled young woman is manipulated into overthrowing a corrupt regime, alongside untrustworthy allies and a sexy-yet-mysterious guy. But while the story hits some predictable beats, the overall execution is solid, and as the kickoff to Blake's Frostblood Saga, it succeeds in laying down intriguing framework for the books to come. Ages 12-up. Agent: Suzie Townsend, New Leaf Literary & Media. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Library Journal Review
Gr 9 Up-Seventeen-year-old Ruby Otrera lives in a world where fire and ice are mortal enemies. Ruby is one of the last firebloods, second-class citizens of the kingdom of Tempesia. There, the ruling frostbloods are determined to locate and destroy all remaining firebloods in the realm. Ruby lives with her mother in a remote village, hiding her unpredictable powers of heat and flame. After the king's soldiers raid her small village and drag Ruby to prison, though, she is set on a dangerous and unexpected path. Blake's debut fantasy novel is a familiar tale about a young woman finding her way in a troubled and prejudiced world. With a few allies, including frost-wielding monks and a mysterious and irresistible masked warrior, the heroine becomes the key to a rebel plot to assassinate the king. Despite some formulaic plot elements, this is an enjoyable, fast-paced debut that blends romance into a story of suspenseful battles, royal prisons, and rebel schemes. VERDICT This series opener is perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and will delight those who love fantasy, adventure, and romance. A strong addition to any YA fantasy collection.-Ariel Birdoff, New York Public Library © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Booklist Review
Seventeen-year-old Ruby Ottera is orphaned after watching her mother be murdered by the people she had been protecting Ruby from all along, called frostbloods. Ruby is thereby thrust into a life where friend and foe want to use her fire-wielding powers as a weapon a fireblood in a kingdom ruled by frost. Driven by a prophecy, rebel frostbloods save Ruby from certain death, hoping that she will help them break the curse on their kingdom. Ruby is continuously torn between red-hot anger and a spark of fondness for her instructor, Arcus, a frostblood with a tragic past, as he trains her to fight for her life and his kingdom. Ruby's thirst for revenge is seemingly thwarted when she's captured again and forced to fight in an arena where a fireblood has never triumphed, while becoming an object of fascination for the king. This enchanting and fast-paced debut lights up the page with magic, romance, and action, all of which is expertly interwoven throughout the text. Readers will be eagerly anticipating the next book in the series.--Oppelt, Meghan Copyright 2016 Booklist