Publishers Weekly Review
In this entertaining spin-off of the EllRay Jakes series, Warner turns her focus to EllRay's younger sister, seven-year-old Alfie, as she prepares to start second grade. Testing her boundaries, Alfie secretly brings home a kitten, breaking a family rule (her mother thinks Alfie is allergic). Alfie's spirited interactions with EllRay and Hanni, a know-it-all friend in the making, add further spice to the plot. Accented by Malone's simple b&w line drawings, it's an emotionally incisive story; Alfie is headstrong, thoughtful, and able to own up to her missteps (eventually). Simultaneously available: Absolutely Alfie & the First Week Friends. Ages 6-8. Author's agent: Ginger Knowlton, Curtis Brown. Illustrator's agency: Christina A. Tugeau Artist Agency. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Library Journal Review
Gr 2-5-EllRay Jakes's fanciful little sister, Alfie, now has her own series. Alfie thinks that her last three weeks of summer before second grade will be boring, until her mom sets up a two-girl day care club. Alfie will be spending the next few days with Hanni, a soon-to-be second grader whom she barely knows. Summer camp turns out to be more exciting than expected, and Alfie falls in love with Hanni's kittens and becomes pretty close friends with Hanni, too. She decides to take a cat home, even though she knows very well that pets aren't allowed at her house, because of allergies. On day three, Alfie and Princess are discovered. Will the Jakes decide to let Princess become part of their family? Young readers will enjoy this accessible story with sprightly characters who remind us that sometimes rules need to be broken. -VERDICT Fans of Junie B. Jones and Kylie Jean will not be disappointed. A solid addition to chapter book shelves.-Martha Rico, El Paso ISD, TX © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Booklist Review
Little sister of the eponymous hero of the EllRay Jakes books, seven-year-old Alfie has hit the vacuum of summer vacation, that time when all the fun of summer is past, and a few long hot weeks remain before the start of school. Her mother has a plan: a two-girl daycare with Hanni Sobel, a girl Alfie's age who lives a block away. The first day Alfie goes to Hanni's, she falls in love with one of Hanni's new kittens, a gray darling she calls Princess. Operation Kittycat is born, but once Alfie smuggles the kitten into her own room, she finds that such a tiny creature can be a huge responsibility, especially when it's a secret. Warner's novel is a sunny narrative reminiscent of the Junie B. Jones books but more sophisticated. She combines the plot elements of Alfie longing for a pet with her worries about starting second grade, which includes having a boy teacher, into an authentic and appealing story. Malone's line drawings enhance the narrative admirably.--Scanlon, Donna Copyright 2017 Booklist