Library Journal Review
After Liberty Caldwell's brother is killed at the 1770 Boston Massacre, all that remains of her protector, Alexander, is his ring. In 2015, Annie David survives the Boston Marathon bombing and the only detail she recalls is the antique ring on the hand of her first responder. First novelist Chiavaroli's historical tapestry will provide a satisfying summer read for fans of Kristy Cambron and Lisa Wingate. © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Publishers Weekly Review
Two women united by a ring but separated by time tie together Chiavaroli's engrossing debut novel. Annie David survives the Boston Marathon bombing after being taken to safety by an unknown rescuer who gives her an antique ring and promises to find her again. The novel moves back in time to 1770, when Liberty Caldwell comes to Boston in search of her brother. After she fails to locate him, she decides to stay and takes employment as a British lieutenant's housekeeper. It is a tumultuous time in Boston, and despite the lieutenant's attempts to protect his employee, she is assaulted by a British captain. In her distress, she steals the lieutenant's only ring and flees the escalating tensions in the city. In present day, Annie is struggling with depression and guilt after her niece was crippled in the bombing. However, receiving the ring and researching Liberty's history help Annie to overcome her negative feelings. The two women, separated by hundreds of years, both struggle through fear and loss to discover their true strength. Annie and Liberty are flawed, but their pain is familiar, creating an instant, lasting connection with readers. Chiavaroli's writing flows easily and the pacing keeps the pages turning in this moving novel that covers tough topics such as PTSD, sexual assault, and forgiveness with realism and nuance. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Booklist Review
When Annie David is wounded in the bombing just before crossing the finish line of the Boston Marathon, she is swept up in the arms of a stranger who carries her to an ambulance and presses a ring into her hand. In 1770, Liberty Caldwell is reluctantly working in the home of two British officers while awaiting the return of her only relative, her brother, a sailor who is soon killed in the Boston Massacre. She is left pregnant after a rape. Annie and her rescuer eventually search genealogical and historical records to search the significance of the ring and how it relates to a poem found in an eighteenth-century time capsule. Chiavaroli brings together two romances that occur more than two centuries apart bound together by the gold signet ring with an inscription that inspires its owners to find freedom and rely on God.--Herald, Diana Tixier Copyright 2017 Booklist