Library Journal Review
Lucius has suffered from poor health for most of his 28 years. When he is told in 1969 to enjoy the time he has left, he returns to the California town of Miramar Bay where he dies in Jessica's arms. Almost 50 years later he wakes up in the body of 22-year-old Luke Benoit. As Lucius struggles to fit into both his new identity as Luke and the 21st century, his therapist Aisha Meisel tries to explain the sudden changes in her patient and deal with her own problems. She considers Luke delusional, yet he seems to have taken control of his life. Can this transformation be explained scientifically, or has a miracle occurred? When Lucius/Luke again meets a now elderly and ill Jessica, he is forced to confront their past and decide how to live in the future. VERDICT Four-time Christy Award winner Bunn's sequel to Miramar Bay can be read as a stand-alone. Despite some awkward transitions, confusing dialog, and a plot device that requires a suspension of disbelief, this is ultimately a bittersweet story about the importance of love and friendship. Readers of Nicholas Sparks will find it appealing.-Margaret Bentley, Shiawassee Dist. Lib., Owosso, MI © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Publishers Weekly Review
Bunn returns to the coastal town of Miramar Bay, Calif., the setting of 2016's Miramar Bay, in this novel rich with rediscovery. In 1969 Miramar, Lucius Quarterfield has a threatening heart condition and leads a solitary existence, but has nevertheless embraced life through his business acumen. Though only 28, Lucius owns 11 car dealerships, yet one of his greatest joys is his relationship with beautiful and outspoken Jessica Waverly, whom he first met when she walked into his dealership to buy a car, and whom he loves too much to ask to stay with him in the short time he has left to live. The story jumps forward to present-day California, where Luke Benoit, a college student and patient of therapist Asha Meisel, is recovering from a suicide attempt. Lucius realizes the unthinkable has happened-he inhabited Luke's body when Luke attempted suicide. Lucius tries to convince Asha of his revelation, and though she and her mentor, Dino Barbieri, understandably have difficulty believing Lucius's claims, Asha can't deny that the Luke she knew has changed. The depressed, lax student whom Asha knew before seems to have completely evolved into a good student with a positive attitude. In Bunn's emotional novel, readers will be particularly swept away by Lucius's and Jessica's love story. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Booklist Review
Lucius Quarterfield knew he didn't have a long life ahead of him, but he was proud of the life he lived. A sickly young man, he had triumphed over his doctors' estimates by overseeing a thriving car business. And he was fortunate enough to reunite with his first love, Jessica, before she died. Decades later, Lucius finds himself inhabiting the body of Luke Benoit, whose personal history is darkened by substance abuse and several suicide attempts. Luke's therapist, Asha, doesn't fully understand the extent of Luke's sudden change in personality, but she knows something's different. While Asha tries to untangle the mystery surrounding her toughest patient, and Lucius begins to understand why he's been given a second chance, they come to realize just how amazing their shared story has become. Bunn (Miramar Bay, 2017) bridges the years in Lucius' and Luke's lives, leading readers across shared experiences, memories, and dreams of the future. Fans of Kate Morton and Liane Moriarty will enjoy how this warm and well-crafted novel explores the limits of human understanding, acceptance, and imagination.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2017 Booklist