Library Journal Review
Arriving in New York City in 1911 with her employer, English housemaid Annie Wood is fascinated by all she sees. For the first time, she picks up on the American notion that she could become more than a lady's maid. Taking a position at Macy's New York department store as a seamstress, she is noticed by a Butterick Pattern Company representative. Her innate talent as a designer and patternmaker takes her to the heights of the fashion industry. The uplifting tone and turn-of-the-century setting will charm historical fiction readers, and fashionistas interested in the evolution of the clothing industry in the early 20th century will find much to like here. VERDICT Christy Award winner Moser (Time Lottery) pens a rags-to-riches saga that illustrates America's eternal draw for immigrants. Readers who enjoyed Susan Vreeland's Clara and Mr. Tiffany may find this appealing. © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.